1979 Australian Rally Championship

1979 Australian Rally Champions – Ross Dunkerton / Jeff Beaumont – Datsun Stanza. This was Dunkerton’s fourth championship – 1975, 1976, 1977 (equal) 1979 CAMS AUSTRALIAN RALLY CHAMPIONSHIP In the eleven years of the Australian Rally Championship no series had approached the 1978 season for competition and drama. Never before had four drivers commenced the […]

1968 Australian Rally Championship

The 1968 Championship winning Ford Cortina Lotus with Harry Firth and Graham Hoinville 1968 CAMS AUSTRALIAN RALLY CHAMPIONSHIP Australian rallying for 1968 constituted the hardest year of this branch of the sport any of the regular contestants had faced. Competition came from some twenty crews in superb vehicles – and those crews had some outstanding […]

1988 Australian Rally Championship

1988 Australian Rally Champions – Murray Coote, Iain Stewart and Mazda 323 4WD. 1988 CAMS AUSTRALIAN RALLY CHAMPIONSHIP There were a handful of crews that started the first round of the 1988 series who were regarded as having any chance of taking off the championship. Defending champions Greg Carr/Fred Gocentas were in a Mitsubishi Starion […]

1987 Australian Rally Championship

1987 Australian Rally Champions – Greg Carr, Fred Gocentas and Alfa Romeo GTV6. 1987 CAMS AUSTRALIAN RALLY CHAMPIONSHIP Greg Carr/Fred Gocentas took the Alfa Romeo GTV6 to what many considered an unexpected Australian Rally Championship title as the rear wheel drive car was up against the fleet four-wheel drive Mazda 323 and Subaru RX, in […]

1986 Australian Rally Championship

1986 Australian Rally Champion Driver and Car – Barry Lowe and Subaru RX Turbo. Kate Officer won the Navigators Championship. 1986 CAMS AUSTRALIAN RALLY CHAMPIONSHIP Barry Lowe put together a new Subaru for 1986 when his 1985 sponsor and navigator Kevin Pedder moved on after the first event, and Mark Stacey took over the left […]

1985 Australian Rally Championship

1985 Australian Rally Champions – Barry Lowe, Kevin Pedder and Subaru RX Turbo 1985 CAMS AUSTRALIAN RALLY CHAMPIONSHIP 1985 was the first year that the new Group A (PRC) category gained real support and credibility and the first time that a Group A car and crew took off the national championship – thanks mostly to […]

1984 Australian Rally Championship

1984 Australian Rally Champions – David Officer, Kate Hobson and Mitsubishi Galant 1984 CAMS AUSTRALIAN RALLY CHAMPIONSHIP The 17th Australian Rally Championship was held over six events across Australia, the season consisting of one event each for Queensland and West Australia and two each for New South Wales and Victoria. It was an unusual season, […]

1983 Australian Rally Championship

Ross Dunkerton/David Kortlang in the Datsun 1600 Ross Dunkerton changes to a PRC Holden Commodore to take off maximum points to win his fifth Australian Rally Championship title. Here with navigator David Kortlang 1983 CAMS AUSTRALIAN RALLY CHAMPIONSHIP About the kindest thing that can be said of the 1983 Australian Rally Championship is that it […]

1982 Australian Rally Championship

In the absence of works-backed cars a 12 year old Datsun 1600 won the 1982 Championship, crewed by Geoff Portman and Ross Runnalls. 1982 CAMS AUSTRALIAN RALLY CHAMPIONSHIP It was obvious from the start of the year that 1982 would be a two-horse race between Geoff Portman in a Datsun 1600 and Greg Carr in […]

1981 Australian Rally Championship

1981 Australian Rally Champions – Geoff Portman, Ross Runnalls and Datsun Stanza 1981 CAMS AUSTRALIAN RALLY CHAMPIONSHIP The first thing to note about the 1981 championship series was the change of allocation of points – from the long standing 9, 6, 4, 3, 2, 1 system for the first six place-getters to 20, 15, 12, […]

1980 Australian Rally Championship

1980 Australian Rally Champions – George Fury, Monty Suffern and Datsun Stanza. 1980 CAMS AUSTRALIAN RALLY CHAMPIONSHIP Continuing their almost complete domination of major Australian rallies in the second half of the seventies the Total Oil Datsun Team convincingly won the 1980 Australian Rally Championship with George Fury, Monty Suffern and Datsun Stanza. It was […]

1978 Australian Rally Championship

1978 Australian Rally Champions – Greg Carr, Fred Gocentas and Ford Escort RS 1800 1978 CAMS AUSTRALIAN RALLY CHAMPIONSHIP After a year of intense competition Greg Carr, driving a Ford Escort RS 1800 and with Fred Gocentas again as navigator, emerged as the Australian Rally Champion driver for 1978. Carr and Dunkerton tied on 27 […]

1977 Australian Rally Championship

Dual 1977 Australian Rally Champions:  George Fury/Monty Suffern (Datsun 710 SSS) and Ross Dunkerton/Jeff Beaumont (Datsun 260Z) – also drove two events in a Datsun 710 SSS 1977 CAMS AUSTRALIAN RALLY CHAMPIONSHIP After a number of years of the Australian Rally Championship languishing in the doldrums as a second-rate series things really came to life in 1977. […]

1976 Australian Rally Championship

1976 Australian Rally Champions – Ross Dunkerton, Jeff Beaumont and Datsun 240Z 1976 CAMS AUSTRALIAN RALLY CHAMPIONSHIP 1976 was a mixed year for Australian Rallying. The year provided both good and not so good news. The two major international rallies on the calendar, the Southern Cross Rally and the Castrol Rally provided plenty of action […]

1975 Australian Rally Championship

1975 Australian Rally Champions – Ross Dunkerton/John Large/Datsun 240Z. Image from Racing Car News December 1975 1975 CAMS AUSTRALIAN RALLY CHAMPIONSHIP If ever proof was needed that competition improves the breed, then the CAMS Australian Rally Champions for 1975, Ross Dunkerton and John large, both from Western Australia, were living proof. Two years previously, despite […]

1974 Australian Rally Championship

1974 Australian Rally Champions – Colin Bond, George Shepheard and the Holden Torana XU-1 1974 CAMS AUSTRALIAN RALLY CHAMPIONSHIP The 1974 Australian Rally Championship saw seven events run, including for the first time an event in Western Australia. For the first time ALL events were navigationally straight forward with none of the ‘crystal ball’ exercises […]

1973 Australian Rally Championship

1973 Australian Rally Champions – Peter Lang (ACT)/Warwick Smith (Vic) in the Holden Torana GTR XU-1 1973 CAMS AUSTRALIAN RALLY CHAMPIONSHIP From Canberra, Peter Lang, star recruit for the Holden Dealer Team (HDT) in 1973, took out the Australian Rally Championship (ARC) in a Holden Torana XU-1. His navigator was Warwick Smith, from Victoria. They […]

1972 Australian Rally Championship

1972 Australian Rally Champions – Colin Bond/George Shepheard in the Holden Torana XU1 1972 CAMS AUSTRALIAN RALLY CHAMPIONSHIP The cars of the Holden Dealer Team, led by the legendary Harry Firth, were simply too fast, too reliable, too well driven and navigated, and too well organised to give any other of the competitors a chance. […]

1971 Australian Rally Championship

1971 Series Winners – Colin Bond/George Shepheard in the Holden Torana XU-1 in the 1970 Southern Cross Rally 1971 CAMS AUSTRALIAN RALLY CHAMPIONSHIP At the beginning of 1970 there seemed to be an excitement in the world of Australian rallying as cars and crews were preparing for action in Australia’s bi-centenary year. The year ended […]

1970 Australian Rally Championship

1970 ARC Champions – Bob Watson and Jim McAuliffe – Renault 8 Gordini 1296cc 1970 CAMS AUSTRALIAN RALLY CHAMPIONSHIP During 1969 CAMS did a massive amount of work at the administrative level with the Police and Shire Councils to make sure that events will be held, although there was a massive reduction in the number […]